Random Tangent Quote: Tom Brady


Being from New England, I’m somewhat aware that a team called the New England Patriots plays in the area.  They tend to beat the team they play more often than they do the opposite of that.  I hear that’s a good thing.

They have a player, named Tom Brady, who takes after his coach, Bill Belichick, both of whom sometimes says awesome things. This is one of those times.

Via Patriots.com:

Q: Aside from the obvious that winning is the most important thing, what do the individual records that you’re piling up mean to you?

TB: I play this game for one reason and it’s to win. There’s nothing more important to me than that. As a quarterback you do everything you can do to help this team win. When your number is called upon to go out and execute certain plays, that’s what you’re expected to do. It’s not something I think about, it’s not something I ever [think], ‘Man, I love throwing touchdowns,’ or ‘I love throwing for yards.’ I love winning and that helps me sleep at night.

 – Thomas Edward Patrick “Tom” Brady, Jr.

Via Wikipedia: 

“Tom” Brady is an American football quarterback for the New England Patriots of the National Football League (NFL). After playing college football at Michigan, Brady was drafted by the Patriots in the sixth round of the 2000 NFL Draft.

He has played in four Super Bowls, winning three of them (XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX). He has also won two Super Bowl MVPawards (XXXVI and XXXVIII), has been selected to seven Pro Bowls (and invited to eight, although he declined the 2006 invitation), and holds the NFL record for most touchdown passes in a single regular season. His career postseason record is 14–5. He also helped set the record for the longest consecutive win streak in NFL history with 21 straight wins over two seasons (2003–04), and in 2007 he led the Patriots to the first undefeated regular season since the institution of the 16-game schedule.

Ever heard of him?

